Passion Project Update No. 2

I guess this is where the proverbial rubber is supposed to be meeting the road, but to be truthful, I’ve skipped a couple opportunities to do some writing. I am disappointed in myself.

Over the weekend, I did have a small burst of activity and felt I was getting somewhere. I can’t seem to get away from backstory that I feel is somewhat boring, but I added a little, along with some personality insights I felt were needed, in the form of a prologue. I know some writers and editors absolutely abhor prologues, but I reminded myself that THIS IS A DRAFT. I can add, delete and fix later. Must get it down.

This added to my word count a little and made me feel some better about moving forward, too. I actually left it in a good place.

Then Sunday rolled around, and I had to get some school stuff done. At the end of the day, I actually wanted to break up with my laptop. We needed time apart.

Yesterday, Monday, I was actually home at a decent time, and I knew I should have been writing. I knew that once I started, I’d probably get into it, enjoy it, and feel challenged. But my defiant alter ego was hanging out in my conscience, saying, “No. Just wanna snack, chill and TV.” Even when the Powers That Be wouldn’t allow my Internet to work well enough for Netflix to continue without buffering, I didn’t take the hint. I kept trying to reload that episode of Glee. It was the one about a lock-down. Scary, seeing as how I work at a high school. Nevertheless, I didn’t get to finish the show.

What did I do? Did I say, “OK, Powers That Be, I’ll use this time to pursue my project, the one that I have chosen myself, the one that I am modeling for my students. The one where I write a novel in 30 days because I’ve always wanted to write a novel, and NaNoWriMo presents the perfect opportunity to try.”

Nope.

Went to bed at 7:30 with a book.

A book that someone else wrote.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

