Just another Thanksgiving post – but this one is mine

I am thankful for the beauty of a sunset right outside my front door. I have so much.

I am thankful for the beauty of a sunset right outside my front door. I have so much.

I’m thankful for you.

It’s impossible not to sound cliché on Thanksgiving. I’ve read multiple posts giving thanks for all the things my Facebook friends, my Twitter friends, and my blogger friends are thankful for. Everyone is thankful for their families and loved ones and for the understanding support they get from their co-workers and their online personal learning networks, and I can’t say any different. That doesn’t mean it isn’t true for me like it’s true for all the rest. We really are thankful people when we stop and think about it. And that’s what Thanksgiving Day is – a day to stop and think about it, to celebrate what we’re thankful for.

I always feel a little conflicted knowing how blessed I am and knowing full well there will come a time in the very near future when things will not be going the way I want and, even if I don’t utter the words aloud, I’ll catch myself thinking, “I hate my life.” Now, I don’t really mean that, but we all have moments of frustration, either with others or with ourselves – frankly, it’s usually the latter – that prompts such a response. Or maybe it’s just me. It’s something I work on all the time, and I count it as one of my blessings that I can see that failure in myself, and I can work on it. Keeps me humble.

But for today – for today – I am focusing on things to be thankful for.

I am thankful for my husband. He loves me through my thankfulness and my “hate my life-ness”. That’s not always easy.

I am thankful for my three sons who have given me more love and joy and pride than anyone could ever express. Cliché again, but there just are no words to do justice to how I feel about each of them. Other moms, can I get an Amen? I cannot wait until they know what I know about being a parent.

I am thankful for the two beautiful – inside and out – women that two of my sons have brought into our family. One is all the way married in (thankful for the joy that May wedding brought to us), and the other just as much ours. What blessings these two are.

I am thankful for the families I came from. They have all loved me the best they know how.

I am thankful for friendships, the 37-year-old friendship that time and distance does not affect, as well as friendships made working among good people for so many years.

I am thankful for friendships discovered in my online community, my personal learning network, where I am constantly amazed that people I have never met, whom I may never meet, are so supportive and helpful and motivating.

I am so very thankful for the students I have met in my short time of teaching. They individually and collectively have taught me so much about the world and about myself. I am doing what I was truly meant to do. I don’t always do it perfectly – who does? But I know I am in the right place, and I am thankful for that.

And because you who are reading this no doubt fit into one of the above categories, I am thankful for you.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

