#Jerdchat gets its own blog

For those of you who read my July 23 post on Connectivity, where I talked about the #Jerdchat Twitter chat for journalism advisers, I’m happy to report that I began a new blog for that community, Jerdchat.wordpress.com. Find archives, topics lists, a few basic resources, and, in the future, more resources and blogs that we hope will be shared by the J-advisers that participate in our bi-weekly Thursday chats.

As you will read in the “Movies” post – the topic of our August 1 chat – we’re on the lookout for some more tweeps who might be willing to help us moderate from time to time. With more on board, we could potentially go to a weekly chat, making #jerdchat less likely to be missed because folks forget which Thursday we’re having it.

Take a look at the blog, read some of the @Storify archives, peruse the resources page and then follow that blog too. Mark your calendars to join us next chat, August 15, when @SarahJNichols joins us as guest moderator to talk about using social media in our programs. I’m betting that one will be filled with valuable information, just in time to utilize this school year.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

