Bucket List

Well, we’re more than a week into the winter break, and I have been breaking. Every time I think of school, my internal editor kindly steps in and ‘deletes’ the thought. She’s been a kind soul, who – I hope – will allow my thought processes to go the direction of school toward the end of the week, as I really do need to do some short-term planning.
In the meantime, I’ve done some long-term planning in the form of a ‘bucket list.’ Been seeing these things all over the place since Nicholson and Freeman made the idea famous.
Pulled up my Mac’s dashboard yesterday and created a new stickie note. I know that doesn’t seem very permanent, but it’s a start. I dunno about most people, but I realized later that I started big and worked my way down to reasonable:
Write a novel
Publish a novel (these are seperate things)
Visit England/Scotland and maybe some other places
Get a masters degree
Publish a scholarly article
Get on bone marrow donor registry
Read the books Victor’s creature read
Blog and tweet fluently

Thus established, I opened a Twitter account this morning, crafted my first tweet and wrote this blog post.
Now, where’s my copy of Paradise Lost?

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

