Wipeout

It’s a title you can only use once, but will probably be called for over and over.

Last week kind of wiped me out. Can’t even remember for sure why.

To begin with, Labor Day threw off my internal calendar, so Tuesday was Monday. I vaguely remember several students who were supposed to come in for make-up work not doing so, so I spent time trying to track them down to see if they reported to another teacher or blew me off. There were numerous loose ends to take care of like calling parents, chasing down payment confirmations on duplicate billings and ordering replacement pieces of equipment.

The managing editor of our local paper stopped by for a visit about running a couple of my students’ columns on the upcoming bond issue, and I was invited to present at Oklahoma State University’s Journalism Day in November. Both of these situations called for gathering information and communicating back and forth – hence my continued feeling of “feels like I’m forgetting something…”

Then Thursday was Picture Day. Picture Day involves being on your feet (and on your toes) all day, requiring my staff to keep hoards of students moving through lines, not dawdling, making sure they’re all getting they’re pictures taken and going back to class. We threw in a yearbook survey just because we thought we needed something else to deal with. I was back and forth between the Student Center, where photogs were set up, and the office, where I used the intercom system, and in between, addressing everything from “I didn’t know it was Picture Day. Can I bring my money tomorrow?” (No, the money goes to the photographers who will be gone), to “My son didn’t tell me it was Picture Day. How can I order?” (Here is the phone number and web site address), to “Can you just run my picture from last year?” (this was a teacher) to “Can the seniors make goofy faces since it’s just for their student IDs?” (I’m choosing my battles, and what I don’t see, I don’t have control of) and even, “What do you want us to do about the facial piercings?” (from the photographers, and it’s okay; I want their pictures).

Gotta love Picture Day.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

