Teacher Moment

This one should have gone up over a week ago, when, in the space of a few days, I had three former students inform me that they will be writing for their respective college newspapers.

An ’09 grad, a former entertainment editor, will be writing for the Cameron Collegian, with the very real possibility of an editorship next semester. That’s my alma mater – and the very newsroom in which I fell in love with this gig – so it’s very special to me.

My ’10 yearbook editor will be writing for, and being paid by, Oklahoma State’s O’Colly, a daily paper. She’ll do great, and I’m looking forward to reading her stuff.

The buck-stops-here yearbook editor of 2011 has gigs going for the University of Oklahoma Daily as well as a spot on the yearbook staff. She’s already sent links for her first two Daily stories and dropped by with a print version of one.

I am so proud of these kids, as well as those who have taken the skills they gained in my classes and used them in other pursuits. This is the best job in the world.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

