Hurry up and wait…

The life of a publications adviser is manic. We have one speed: hurry. Seems there are always more things that need to be done than there is time in which to do them. Though I’m sure last week ended in the same frenetic mode, frankly, it’s a blur I cannot remember.

The week began with a yearbook goal: get the names from the group pictures proofed and marked for the 2011 book index.

The deadline on getting the last of the pages marked for the index – well, besides the fact that the book SHOULD HAVE BEEN FINISHED IN JUNE – was that my yearbook publisher rep was coming Tuesday afternoon to help me place those indexed names on the index pages. When you only do something once a year, and the rep has you do it differently (a better way?) than the instructions in the starter kit direct (confusing), it’s easier to just have him come help. And he’s willing – he’s a helpful guy.

The end result, however, was that after all the hurrying to finish so he could do his part when he arrived, the software has a bug of some sort, and the indexing portion won’t work. We can’t figure out why. Even my super-rep is perplexed. So now I’m in “wait” mode again, while he tries to resolve my problem.

I’m in “wait” mode as well on a particular lesson I need to present to my yearbookers. A great, energetic, positive staff, they’ve been busy selling ads and attending events, gathering content, but it’s time to show them basic design. For this I use my handy-dandy MacBook and the projector I was granted by the McCasland Foundation a few years ago, and I walk them through the process of eyelines, axis, dominant elements and so forth. Preparing for the lesson earlier in the week, I noticed a small, but important element of the lesson missing.

Oh, technology, you are so wonderful … when you are working correctly and we have all we need. The small adapter that allows my laptop to talk to the projector has mysteriously disappeared from the cable to which it was attached last week. No one borrowed it. No one moved it. However, I realized that when I am not using it, the cable simply hangs over the edge of my desk … dangling over the trashcan that sits beneath my desk. The only explanation I can come up with is that it fell into the trash. It never attached securely. In fact, at one point, I had it Scotch-taped to the cable, but it was borrowed a time or two, and I just never taped it back. I’m now trying to reach Apple, get a PO approved and order another one.

“Wait” mode.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

