Piles, ad sales and the heat … oh, the heat

Well, seven – no, eight, school days have gone by with no time for blogging. Not that I haven’t been writing in my head. During the first few days, I saw only miniscule reductions in the do-this-first pile, from getting the sub folder ready to setting up the gradebook in the system and pestering my students to get forms completed correctly, signed by parents and turned in. That, of course, was secondary to preparing for class.

I’m still staring down a do-this-next pile, while the shoulda-done-this-over-the-summer piles haunt me, but I’m doing the best I can and working hard every day. This led to some serious exhaustion at first, but that’s getting better too.

Both staffs began their ad sales campaigns Friday and did more of the same today. This provided Snidey with some much-needed quiet time to accomplish little tasks. The worst any have encountered so far was the downtown retailer who refused to sign the call sheet indicating the student had actually called on the business.

They’re having generally good luck, but would do better if they could spread thinner. We just don’t have many drivers on either staff this year, so they can’t get much done before they have to return to school. They’ll just have to do some selling on their own time or we’ll never get anything done in class.

In the meantime, I had the best of intentions of getting closer to finalizing the 2011 book. Got more of the final deadline of corrected proofs PDF’d, but the printer guy came in to work on my printer issues, which took about an hour, so my productivity decreased and I didn’t reach my goal of completion – but I am closer. End page proofs are final, and I made corrections to the cover proof, sealed it in a FedEx envelope, grabbed up a stack of English I knew I wouldn’t grade and headed for the car. As I drove to the FedEx drop box, 108 degree air circulated through my vents and blew into my face. All the way home, it was the same thing; windows up, windows down, I couldn’t decide what was worse. My 10-year-old car’s air conditioning has finally failed … in the hottest summer on record.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

