August 8, 2011: In with the new

Today marked the beginning of the new school year, while I’ve been hyper aware that – for me at least – the old one isn’t quite finished. After greeting co-workers who’d had a good summer’s rest, marked by lolling about in the pool and going on cruises, we breakfasted together. The next few hours were filled with professional development activities.
Given the afternoon to work in our classrooms, I jumped back into the tedious re-organization of binders full of literature and grammar lessons, while nearby, two of my news staffers put the finishing touches on the back-to-school issue they argued so intensely for back in May. On another computer, my yearbook editor indexed the final pages of the 2011 book – the one that was due back in June.
It was a rough summer that followed a rough end of the year for yearbook. Staffers who fell behind stayed behind and, in the end, left without finishing. Others filled in, but there was much left undone. As the summer waged on, most of the work fell to the editor, simply because, as we put it, “the buck stops here.” It was tough, really tough. In June, no one wants to talk about the powderpuff football game, tanning for prom or vocal music competitions of the year.
But it is now done, at least as far as content. In my spare time this week, I’ll finish up the index and get those pages submitted. With any luck, we’ll have the books delivered by the end of October, probably too late for competition.
The cool thing about this job – even following years like this one – is that I get do-overs. I have good ideas in my head to counter some of the problems we had. I have good staffs coming in, enthusiastic kids who want to learn and to do. I’m excited about that.

About teachjournalism
I am a high school teacher of journalism, technology and reading. I advise the school's newspaper and yearbook, both student-led publications. Documenting and sharing my experiences is a way of reflecting to improve my own work and and inviting commentary so that we might all benefit. I believe, as I tell my students each year, that we all learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

